Coming soon to an imaginary bookseller near you…

The great children’s literature blog 100 Scope Notes posted a game a few months ago that leads you on a scavenger hunt through the internet to create your own fantasy and YA book covers. I’m a little late to the party, but I had such a great time making them (and they came out so awesome) that I’m posting them here!

I cheated a little, unintentionally. I gathered the info for both covers before I started photoshopping, and then accidentally put the name of my “fantasy author” on my YA cover. I decided the names worked much better reversed, so I switched them.

My YA novel is apparently some kind of dark dystopian or disaster tale. But aren’t they all these days?

YA_Order

I don’t have as much of a feel for my fantasy novel. It is definitely a book written for adults, rather than kids or teens, and I sense it has a feminist or at least woman-centric bent. It’s probably not high fantasy, but rather the type of fantasy that takes place within a slightly altered version of our own world.

FAN_Mistress

UPDATE: To celebrate “Covers Week,” 100 Scope Notes has put up a new game, this one to create a children’s picture book cover. While my previous two covers came together with ease, I had much tougher time with this one. An author name that just doesn’t seem appropriate for a children’s book, a truly saccharine book title, and very, very slim pickings for cover art.

My debut picture book is definitely to be found on the shelf with other radical children’s literature from the 70s, tucked in with an old copy of the UnGame and a well-worn cassette tape of Free to Be, You and Me. It also reminds me somehow of some amazing, dreamily illustrated stories I used to adore when I was a kid, written by Monty Python-er Terry Jones. Those were really good. I should go find them at my mom’s and reread them!

KID_rainbow

I hope you enjoy your imaginary reading of my three debuts!

Wanna make your own picture book cover? Come play along!

CREATE YOUR DEBUT PICTURE BOOK COVER

1 – Go to “The Name Generator” or click http://www.thenamegenerator.com/

Click GENERATE NEW NAME. The name that appears is your author name.

2 – Go to “Picture Book Title Generator” or click http://www.generatorland.com/usergenerator.aspx?id=243

Click CREATE TITLE! This is the title of your picture book.

3 – Go to “FlickrCC” or click http://flickrcc.bluemountains.net/index.php

Type the last word from your title into the search box followed by the word “drawing”. Click FIND. The first suitable image is your cover.

4 – Use Photoshop, Picnik, or similar to put it all together. Gettin’ creative is encouraged.

5 – Post it to your site along with this text.

6 – Leave a link in the comments over at 100 Scope Notes to be added to the cover gallery!.

2 Responses

  1. Is that ever a trippy PB! It’s got me hallucinating over here…the pretty rainbows darting towards my eyeballs.

Leave a Reply

