2009 Young Adult Book Challenge

J. Kaye’s wonderful Book Blog is home to all sorts of tantalizing reading challenges. I’m intrigued by so many of them, but I thought I would start off easy with her 2009 Young Adult Book Challenge. Participants are challenged to read 12 YA books during the year and post a list of them on our blogs. Since I’ve already read 52 (you can see them all listed in the sidebar), it’s just a question of which 12 to post!

I don’t want to post my 12 favorites, because later this month I’ll be posting a “best of 2009” with my best-loved YA books from the ones I’ve read this year. Instead I’ll just put the twelve most recent. I’ve been using the Children’s Choice Awards teen selections to make my library request list lately, so a bunch of these were CCA winners/shortlisteds from previous years.

1. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard
2. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz
3. Epic by Conor Kostick
4. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
5. The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong
6. Being Nikki by Meg Cabot
7. Small Steps by Louis Sachar
8. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
9. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
10. Tehanu by Ursula K. LeGuin
11. Kitty Kitty by Michelle Jaffe
12. Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

There are so many J.Kaye Book Blog challenges that I hope to participate in in 2010. Suspense & Thriller (read 12 different sub-genres – how exciting!); Support Your Local Library (read 12, 25, or 50 books from the library – I’ve obviously more than met this one this year, but I don’t have reviews of any of them, so hopefully next year I will be able to list each one with a review!); 1st in Series (read 12 books that are the first in a series – tantalizing but might be tough since a lot of the YA I read is stand-alone); Seconds (read 12 books by authors that you have only read once – might be impossible as I usually devour everything when I find an author I enjoy); Audiobooks (listen to 12 audiobooks – considering I am on disc 6 of 28 discs for Game of Thrones I think there may only be one audiobook in 2010!); Erotica (read 10 erotica – wow, I have no idea even where to find this – does the library carry it? – but it will be fun to check out other people’s lists for ideas); 100 + (read 100 books – I’m not sure I’m going to quite make it this year, rather unusual for me).

One Response

  1. So glad you are joining this challenge! And I love the title of your blog. I plan to read even more YA next year. I won’t be hosting all the same reading challenges next year. Here’s the updated post with who will be picking up some of the ones I hosted this year: http://j-kaye-book-blog.blogspot.com/2009/11/update-2010-reading-challenges.html

Leave a comment